Search Menu

Openness Awards 2017

4 December 2017, Wellcome Collection, London

Dr Judy MacArthur Clark presented the Internal or Sector Engagement Award to The Babraham Institute for its partnership with the Sopianum School in Netherlands. Students had to design and create solutions to challenging problems, such as creating more effective mouse cages.

Professor Clare Stanford presented the Public Engagement Activity Award to MRC HarwellThe Pirbright InstituteUniversity of Bristol, and University of Oxford for opening their labs to 3D cameras so the 360 degree virtual Lab Animal Tour could be made. Tony Davidge, from Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute, was highly commended for his role in introducing local school children to the ethical and practical issues associated with animal research.

Professor David Webb presented the Media Engagement or Media Stories Award to King’s College London for its eager involvement in the BBC3 documentary ‘The Monkey Lab’, allowing cameras into to see its marmosets. Harry Dayantis, previously of UCL, was highly commended for his role in bringing ten universities together to press release their 2015 animal numbers.

Professor David Eisner presented the Website or Use of New Media Award to University of Cambridge for its videos explaining how animals, including non-human primates, are used to understand and treat OCD.

Professor Clive Page presented UAR’s Individual Award for Outstanding Contribution to Openness in Animal Research to Rachael Buchanan and Fergus Walsh for their time and persistence in getting access and filming laboratory animals and subsequent balanced reporting at a time when ‘animal research’ evoked a knee-jerk response from much of the public and media.

Following the awards, Professor Clive Page, Head of Sackler Institute of Pulmonary Pharmacology, King’s College London, delivered the 81st Stephen Paget Memorial Lecture ‘How animals have helped with the discovery and development of drugs for the treatment of asthma and COPD’.

View the programme here.